Kawah Ijen and Banyuwangi Region

The most exotic Volcano in Indonesia

The Ijen volcano complex is a group of stratovolcanoes in the Banyuwangi Regency of East Java, Indonesia. It is inside a larger caldera Ijen, which is about 20 kilometers wide.

Kawah Ijen (Blue Fire) Banyuwangi

Kawah Ijen is one of the most active volcano in Indonesia and the world. The crater is located at 2.443m high and 200m deep. The last erption was on October 2015. The Stratovolcano is closed time by time for the tourist and the miner because of the emanation of the toxic gas. After 1.5 hour of walk, you’ll reach the peak of the volcano and you can see the magnificent acid lake in turquoise and the active crater. Hundreds of miners extract the sulfur and take it from the top to the parking site on their shoulder. Kawah Ijen has a unique phenomenon called the “Blue Fire”. It’s a phenomenon where a blue fire came out in the crater in the middle of the night. You can only find such a phenomenon in Ijen and Iceland only. If you’re interested on watching the blue fire, you have to go at 01.00 am from the hotel and arrive approximately at 05.00 am.

blue-fire

Blue Fire, Banyuwangi

 

To get to Kawah Ijen, you could pass by Banyuwagi where you can find multiples choices of hotel. You can also choose to pass by Bondowoso and stay at a very simple guest house in an Arabica coffee plantation (very basic guest house) which closer to the volcano.

The hiking to Ijen take a distance of 3 km, depart from 1800m altitude and arrive on the peak at 2443m altitude (or 600m of height difference). It’s a beautiful walk through the nature with a chance of meeting a Macaque and beautiful birds.  You will take the same path as the miner. After 1,5 hour of walk, you will reach the peak.

Pulau Merah Beach, Banyuwangi

We call it « Pulau merah » which means red island. It’s an isle in front of a white sand beach at 60 km from Banyuwangi. The beach is known for surfing, snorkeling, and fishing with cane. The original name of this beach is “Ringin Pitu” or “7 Banyan”. You could soak up in the water or walking around the red island and take picture during the low tide.

pantai-pulau-merah

Pulau Merah Beach

Teluk Hijau “Green Bay”

Green Bay is located ebout 3-4 hours from Banyuwangi. You’ll pass the same route to Meru Betiri National Park where you can see turtles lay eggs. The beach is located in a protected tropical forest. The beach is nominated as one of the most beautiful beach in Java with less tourist. You can have a picnic and enjoy the day on the beach.

green-bay

Green Bay, Banyuwangi

 

Sukamade National Park

Sukamade is a National Park for the conservation of turtles. Every day, turtles will accost from 20.00-24.00. Each turtle could lay up to 150 eggs. Sukamade is the only place in Java where you could see turtle in the beach. It means that, it’s the only place where the turtles feel the calmest! After dinner, the guide will accompany you to see the turtles. He will make sure that you don’t scare the turtle. You cannot make any sound or turn on any source of light. The best season to see the turtles is between November – March, but between March – October, you might see green turtles accost.

Kalibaru

Kalibaru is a small city located 1.5 hour from Banyuwangi. The city is known for the center of Coffee and Cacao plantation since the Dutch colonialization. The Dutch leaves the farms, the train station, and other infrastructures of train that go from Banyuwangi – Surabaya to transport the local agriculture production. The city has the ideal temperature of living and for the plantation. You could stop by Kalibaru from Bromo before continue to Ijen. You could visit the botanic garden of diverse tropical plants and discover the life of the Javanese.

Kaliklatak

After 30 minutes of transfer, you will arrive in one farm of various tropical plant in Kaliklatak. Kaliklatak is an ancient dutch farm that has been nationalized after the world war and now run by the local. They plant coffee, cacao, and rubber. You could also visit a fabrication of rubber. They can serve you lunch after the visit of the farm.

Tabuhan Island

Tabuhan island located about 20 km from Banyuwangi. You could take a boat from port Bangsiring to go to the island to snorkel or diving. The island is inhabited with white sand beach. It’s a good combination between the hiking activity in Bromo before continue to Ijen.

tabuhan-island

Tabuhan Island

 

Plengkung Beach, Banyuwangi

Plengkung Beach is one of the best beach in the world to surf. For the professional surfer, Plengkung beach’s wave is even better than Hawaii’s. The wave can reach 4m tall. The best time to visit is between May – October. Surfer tourist from Bali come to Plengkung to verify their league. You can find many cottages if you want to stay more than a day.

plengkung-beach

Plengkung Beach

 

 

Destinations of Java

Kawah Ijen et La Region de Banyuwangi

The Ijen volcano complex is a group of stratovolcanoes in the Banyuwangi Regency of East Java, Indonesia. It is inside a larger caldera Ijen, which is about 20 kilometers wide.

blue-fire-kawah-ijen

Kawah Ijen – Blue Fire

Kawah Ijen – Banyuwangi

Kawah ijen est un volcan des volcans les plus actifs en Indonésie même au monde. Ce crater se trouve sur l’altitude de 2.443m du hauteur , et 200m de profondeur. La dernière éruption est en Octobre 2015.  Le volcan de type de Stratovolcano est fermé de temps en temps pour les tourists et les mineurs à cause d’émanation du gaz toxique. Après 1.5 de marche vous arriverez au sommet d’un crater avec une vue magnifique sur un grand Lac acid en couleur tourquoise et  crater actif.  Centaines de mineurs travaillent extraient le soufre et le porter sur le dos hôme jusqua  la haute de crater et les transporter  sur une charrette pour déscendre jusqua Parking. Kawah ijen a une phénomène unique, ce qu’on appèllee “Flame bleu”, C’est une flame en couleur bleu qui sorte depuis le crater en plein nuit. Dans le monde, Vous le trouverez uniquement à Kawah Ijen et en Iceland. Si vous souhaitez de voir les flames bleus, Vous devez partir à 01.00 de l’Hôtel et arriver avant 5h du matin quand il  fait encore nuit.

Pour rejoinder Kawah Ijen, Vous pouvez passer par  Banyuwangi où il y a des choix des hotels standarts aux touristes occidentals. Vous pouvez passer également par Bondowoso et rester dans un  guest house dans  la plantation de café Arabica avec peu de confort et à la condition basic de propreté mais C’est le plus proche au site.

L’ascension de kawah Ijen  se fait à 3 km, départ de 1800m et arriver au sommet à 2443m (soit 600m de dénivelé). C’est une belle balade à travers la nature et de temps en temps vous pouvez trouver aussi le groupe de singe de Macaque et des belles oiseaux.  Vous prenez le même chemin que le porteurs de soufre.  Après 1.5h de marche environ, Vous arriverez au sommet d’un volcan ayant une vue magnifique.

Belle Plage de Pulau Merah Banyuwangi

On appelle le Pulau Merah qui veut dire l’île de sable rouge.  C’est une petite île devant une belle plage du sable blance à 60km de Banyuwangi.  Cette plage est très repute pour faire du surf, du snorkeling et aussi faire la pêche avec la cane. Le nom original de cette plage est la plage de Ringin pitu ou les 7 baignants. Vous pouvez vous baigner et vous balader sur l’île Pulau Merah pour faire des photos pendant la marée basse.

pantai-pulau-merah

Plage de Pulau Merah

Teluk Hijau “Bay vert”

Le Bay verte est environ 3 -4h de route depuis la ville de Banyuwangi.  C’est la même route pour aller au park national de Meru Betiri pour voir les tortues de mer qui pendent les oeufs. Cette plage se trouve dans la foret tropicale protégé. Cette plage est considéré comme un des plus belles plages de Java qui n’est pas encore touristique. Vous pouvez faire le pique-nique et passer une bonne jounée sur la plage.

green-bay

Bay Vert, Banyuwangi

Park National de Sukamade

Sukamade est un Park national pour la conservation de  tortue de mer.  Tous les jours les tortues vont accoster de 20.00 – 24.00.  Ils pourront ponder les Oeufs jusqua 150 oeufs chaque tortue.  Sukamade est la seule place sur Java ou on pouura trouver les tortues de mer vont à la plage.  C’est une signe que cette place est consideré comme une place de calme par les tortues! Les tortues ne vont pas aller à la plage bruillante pour éviter les prédateurs. Les prédateurs peuvent être l’humaine et les oiseaux, les varants et les serpents.  Après dinner, Le guide vous accompagne aller à la plage de sukamade. Pour ne fait pas peur les tortues à coster, Vous n’avez pas le droit de faire le bruit et ni allumer  la lampe. Les tortues n’aiment pas la lampe ni le bruit. La meilleur saison de voir les tortues est entre le mois Novembre – Mars. Mais entre le mois Mars – Octobre, les tortues verts vont souvant à coster.

Kalibaru

Kalibaru est une petite ville environ 1.5 heure de  Banyuwangi. Cette ville est reputé comme centre de culture de Cafée et Cacao depuis la colonization hollandaise. Les Hollandais ont laisser les fermes, la gare de train, et infrastructure de train qui va de Banyuwangi – Surabaya pour transporter les produits agricol local. Cette ville fait temperature idéale pour habiter et pour la culture de Cafée et cacao. Vous pouvez s’aretter à kalibaru après l’ascension de Bromo pour vous reposer avant de lever tôt pour faire l’ascension de Kawah ijen.

Vous pouvez visiter le jardin botanic des divers de plants tropical et decouvrir la vie locale des Javanais.

Kaliklatak

Après 30 minuts de transfer en voiture vous arriverez à une ferme de divers de plants tropical de Kaliklatak. Kaliklatak est un ancient ferme Hollandais qui nationalisée après la guère mondiale et maintenant le ferme est géré par un local. Ils cultivent des Caféiers, les cacaoiers et les harbres de caoutchou. Vous pouvez visiter également son usine qui produissent la matière de basse de Caoutchou. Ils pourront préparer le déjeuner après la visite de ferme.

L’île de Tabuhan

L’île de Tabuhan se trouve environ 20km de la ville de Banyuwangi. Vous pouvez prendre le Bateau au porte de Bangsring pour aller sur cette île pour faire du snorkeling ou la plongée. L’île n’est pas habité et reste encore proper ayant du sable blance. C’est une bonne combination entre des activités de l’ascension de Bromo avant de remonter à  Kawah Ijen.

tabuhan-island

Tabuhan Island

Plage de Plengkung Banyuwangi

Plage de  Plengkung  est une de meilleurs plages au monde  pour faire du surf.  Pour les professionnels de surf  trouvent  Plengkung est meilleur que Hawai ayant  une grosse vague de 4 m de hauteur en roulé.  La meilleur saison est entre  Mei en Octobre dans l’année. Les tourists de surfeurs qui sont  a Bali   vont souvant à Plengkung pour verifier leur niveau.  Vous pouvez trouver des hébergements en cottage si vous souhaitez de rester pour plusieurs jours

plengkung-beach

Plage de Plengkung

 

Destination de Java